Clinical Negligence
Price Slater Gawne
Home chevron_right Clinical Negligence chevron_right Loss of Hearing Claims

Clinical Negligence

Loss of Hearing Claims

If hearing impairment/loss has been caused as a result of Clinical Negligence, we can help you.

Contact us

Losing your ability to hear can be devastating: when the ability to communicate is impacted, it can seriously affect your personal and professional life.  In a child, impairment or loss of hearing is very likely to influence their future development of speech, social interaction, education, balance and more.

Given that deafness or partial hearing loss can be life-changing, when it has been caused by something that could have been avoided, it is particularly challenging: we can help. When hearing impairment or loss has been found to have been caused as a result of Clinical Negligence, we can seek compensation for you. How might Clinical Negligence cause hearing impairment or loss?

Failure to diagnose meningitis

Any delay in investigating and treating symptoms of meningitis and/or a failure to introduce antibiotics in a timely manner may cause bilateral hearing loss and inner ear damage which can also affect a person’s balance.  Sensorineural deafness is one of the most prevalent complications of bacterial meningitis.

In cases where symptoms of meningitis are present, antibiotics should be administered immediately – even as a precaution – and the failure to do this can lead to significant harm, including loss of hearing.

People who have suffered from meningitis should also be provided with a hearing test which should be carried out before you are discharged or within at least four weeks of being well enough to have the test.

Perforated ear drum and negligent surgery

During the procedure to repair a perforated ear drum, skin is taken from behind the ear to seal the hole inside the ear.  However, sometimes it may cause further problems – and does not always lead to improvement.  Full and informed consent should be given before any surgery is carried out because if the shape of the ear is altered following the graft, it could affect the fitting of a hearing aid.  Hearing loss can also become worse. If inadequate advice has been given about the surgery, the risks and viable alternatives then a claim may be possible.

Glue ear

Glue ear often follows a cold or ear infection: it is a build-up of fluid behind the eardrum in the middle ear and is most common in children. The build-up of fluid impairs the movement of the ear drum and causes partial deafness. A delay in diagnosing and treating long-term continuing glue ear in children can cause permanent hearing loss.

Common instances of negligence include a failure or a delay in diagnosis leading to permanent hearing damage.

If you or your child has suffered loss of hearing due to clinical negligence, contact us on 03333 057385 or by email to ClinNeg@psg-law.co.uk to find out how we can help you.

Read our Clinical Negligence FAQs

Meet the Team

  • Mark Slater

    Director

    Mark Slater

    t:0161 615 5554

    e: mark.slater@psg-law.co.uk

  • Chris Gawne

    Director

    Chris Gawne

    t:07875 212532

    e: chris.gawne@psg-law.co.uk

  • Andrew Harrison

    Partner, Clinical Negligence

    Andrew Harrison

    t:0161 615 5554

    e: andrew.harrison@psg-law.co.uk

  • Grainne Barton

    Partner, Clinical Negligence

    Grainne Barton

    t:07931 389559

    e: grainne.barton@psg-law.co.uk

  • Sheromee Dhiman-Grewal

    Solicitor, Clinical Negligence

    Sheromee Dhiman-Grewal

    t:07805 034466

    e: sheromee.dhiman-grewal@psg-law.co.uk

  • Carole Watts

    Consultant, Clinical Negligence

    Carole Watts

    t:01353 664963

    e: carole.watts@psg-law.co.uk

  • Claire Tinker

    Associate, Paralegal, Clinical Negligence

    Claire Tinker

    t:0161 775 5955

    e: clare.tinker@psg-law.co.uk

  • Janet Johnson

    Consultant, Clinical Negligence

    Janet Johnson

    t:07717 810160

    e: janet.johnson@psg-law.co.uk

  • Jasmine Johnson

    Solicitor, Clinical Negligence

    Jasmine Johnson

    t:07983 479649

    e: jasmine.johnson@psg-law.co.uk

  • Joe Eley

    Partner, Clinical Negligence

    Joe Eley

    t:07949 439158

    e: joe.eley@psg-law.co.uk

  • Lauren Rhodes

    Solicitor, Clinical Negligence

    Lauren Rhodes

    t:07896 743917

    e: lauren.rhodes@psg-law.co.uk

  • Mairin Costello

    Associate, Clinical Negligence

    Mairin Costello

    t:0282 565 5572

    e: mairin.costello@psg-law.co.uk

  • Michael James

    Solicitor, Clinical Negligence

    Michael James

    t:07946 458062

    e: michael.james@psg-law.co.uk

  • Niall Costello

    Senior Associate, Clinical Negligence

    Niall Costello

    t:0282 565 5572

    e: niall.costello@psg-law.co.uk

  • Olivia Honaker

    Associate, Clinical Negligence

    Olivia Honaker

    t:07551 155864

    e: olivia.honaker@psg-law.co.uk

  • Rosamund Rhodes-Kemp

    Consultant, Clinical Negligence

    Rosamund Rhodes-Kemp

    t:01223 871542

    e: rosamund.rhodes-kemp@psg-law.co.uk

  • Sarah Barclay

    Consultant, Clinical Negligence

    Sarah Barclay

    t:01253 356051

    e: sarah.barclay@psg-law.co.uk

  • Sarah Ratcliffe

    Associate, Clinical Negligence

    Sarah Ratcliffe

    t:07376 631270

    e: sarah.ratcliffe@psg-law.co.uk

  • Sophie Fox

    Senior Associate, Clinical Negligence

    Sophie Fox

    t:07964 354451

    e: sophie.fox@psg-law.co.uk

  • Aiesha Barnes

    Solicitor, Clinical Negligence

    Aiesha Barnes

    t:07944 367944

    e: aiesha.barnes@psg-law.co.uk

  • Angela Richardson

    Chartered Legal Executive, Clinical Negligence

    Angela Richardson

    t:07376 631264

    e: angela.richardson@psg-law.co.uk

  • Michele Gregory

    Paralegal, Clinical Negligence

    Michele Gregory

    t:0161 7281439

    e: michele.gregory@psg-law.co.uk

  • Natalie Staniforth

    Chartered Legal Executive, Clinical Negligence

    Natalie Staniforth

    t:07957 772621

    e: natalie.staniforth@psg-law.co.uk

What Our Clients Say About Us...

  • “I would highly recommend anyone who feels they have been treated negligently to contact PSG.” Mr T

    1/9

  • “Tenacious and committed. I am very grateful: I could not have wished for a better outcome.” Mrs JB

    2/9

  • “Price Slater Gawne to my mind is one of the best in this field. Their specialist clinical negligence team is incredibly strong. This firm is at the top of my list of personal recommendations when asked by friends and family.” Legal 500

    3/9

  • “PSG handled the clinical negligence case for our daughter with care, compassion and professionalism at all times. They kept us well informed, translated the medical jargon into layman’s terms so we understood what was happening with the case and managed it through to a successful conclusion.” Mrs E

    4/9

  • "I have recommended them due to their legal knowledge, organisation skills, friendly and approachable manner, professionalism, communication skills, guidance, teamwork and decision-making." Chambers and Partners

    5/9

  • "The level of expertise from the firm has been outstanding, covering all angles of the case." Chambers & Partners

    6/9

  • "PSG is outstanding in the clinical negligence field in my experience with their instructions always of the highest calibre, well prepared and set out, and they pursue the law in the greatest detail, providing an excellent service for their clients." Legal 500

    7/9

  • "Excellent and hard working – they are dogged in their determination to put right wrongs which have arisen as a result of medical negligence." Legal 500

    8/9

  • "The team is highly professional and understanding, providing clear communication both verbal and written. The overall service was extremely professional and supportive." Chambers and Partners

    9/9

Get in Touch

If you would like to speak with one of our expert lawyers, just call or email using the information below, or complete this form.

call03333 058375 mailinfo@psg-law.co.uk

Our Accreditations

Loading...
Loading...